Stop Dogs Eating Dog Poop – Dog Coprophagia

How To Stop Dogs Eating Dog Poop

Well let’s admit it. Seeing our beloved puppy or dog eating or consuming its own poop is the most disgusting thing can ever happen to our beloved dog.
My 2 months old Rottweiler (currently 5 months old) was having this dog eating poop problem the minute I brought it home from a pet store. The moment I brought it home, it was so cute and cuddly, running around our yard, chasing my siblings and me together. It was such a fun moment.
I’ve never noticed this bad behavior of my Rottweiler pup until I saw it with my own eyes it was eating poop once relieved itself.
At that moment, it made me think, why or the reason my puppy Rottweiler did it. I took it to the vet doctor the doctor said everything was fine with my 2 months old Rottie and most probably it will stop this behavior later on. Just keep an eye on this little fellow, stop it when it is trying to eat its poop and clean up the mess ASAP once you see it.

Listening to the vet doctor’s advice, I have been watching carefully my Rottie every single day on every single moment I could. I became my cute little puppy “CCTV”. You know some small puppy have good appetite, mine is, and eats a lot and pooping a lot of times per day as well.
Watching my Rottie was never an easy task with my hectic schedule and things to complete every day. But I still took some of my time allocated to do research online, asking my friends and relatives or anybody that knows any remedy or how to stop my dog from eating poop.

So in this article I would love to share with you how my Rottie now already stops eating poop.

Reasons Why My Dog Eats Its Own Poop


Dog eating poop/feces or Dog Coprophagia (can’t believe this bad habit has a term) happens to any puppy of any breed within one year old. But it can occur in any stage throughout a dog’s life.

The following are the reasons why your dog eats its own poop:

• Canine Behavior Problem

• Medical Health Problem

Canine Behavior Problem:

• It tastes so good to your dog or puppy. (Due to easy to digest puppy dog food, your puppy may poop many times a day. Thus, the poop itself may have some nutritional values, plus it may still smell and taste good for your puppy. That is one of the reason your puppy eats back its poop).

• It can be symptom of anxiety, stress or boredom.

• Vitamin or mineral deficiency may happen to your puppy. Thus eating feces to restore this balance.

My puppy Rottie has this issue. Thus after consuming additional vitamins and minerals pills which you can get from local pet store, it stops eating poop. Try it.

• Psychology behavior. Let say if your puppy has been in any way being punished for eliminating or pooping at the wrong place, with incorrect ways of toilet training steps, your puppy may misinterpret that each time I poop, I will be punished. Thus in future it will eat its poop after each relieve in order to hide the evidence. If you like to know how to properly toilet train your dog, please visit my article on How to Potty Train a Dog.

• “I am a clean puppy”. Yeap clean puppy, my dog is a clean puppy too. Some puppy or dog has so called personal hygiene. It wants it place to be clean and dry. Thus each time it poops, and if there is no one to clean up the mess, it will do the job itself.

• Still hungry puppy. If you only feed your growing puppy or adult dog once a day, some dogs become very hungry and scavenge anything that is around including poo as food.

Medical Health Problem:

If you are suspecting your puppy or dog has medical related issue that makes it want to consume its own poop, please take your puppy to the vet for check up immediately. The vet will pinpoint what is wrong from various tests. (I did bring my Rottie for checkup but not medical related, phiu)

*** Attention to all Pet Owners: If you dog or puppy eats poop please ensure your dog has proper or full vaccination as well as worming treatments.

The reason is being numerous parasites or diseases can be passed from dog to dog thru Coprophagia.

How to stop Dogs Eating Dog Poop

I have found the following techniques online on how to stop dogs from eating dog poop. Some of the methods I have tried on my Rottie pup and it works. I hope that you will try these methods yourself, let it single or combined solutions together and stop dog eating poop behavior or dog Coprophagia.

• Ensure your dog consume well balanced and nutritious meals.

• Ensure your dog are well fed throughout the day, meaning if one meal a day is not enough, make it two to three meals a day. Please ensure feeding time is regular.

• Always ensure dog’s living area is clean from feces or poop and provide several chew toys to keep them occupied.

• Have enough exercise for your dog or puppy daily. (Note that please do not over exercise your growing puppy).

• Teach your dog or puppy to “Leave It” (click here to learn more) command, or you can get this ebook for your reference on steps to properly train your puppy or dog.

• I’ve found this solution. I’ve tried, but it works on other dogs, not mine. But you can still try who knows. Put a spoonful of pineapple, pumpkin, spinach, pickles, or garlic into your dog or puppy’s food. It tastes good when eaten but not so when eaten in poop. Your puppy may soon stop eating poop. Please try and let me know.

• Tabasco sauce or Cayenne pepper. Yeap you can try this method. Each time your puppy poops, immediately take it away to other place. Then you go back to that poop and pour some Tabasco sauce on it. Then take your puppy back. It may eat the poop but due to the hot sauce it may stop after a while.

• Use Forbid and Deter or Stop Eating Poop products available at your local pet store or purchase thru Amazon.com. Mix it with your dog food and let your puppy consume them in each meal. The powder or tablet form creates a very nasty taste on poop (bitter poop to be exact) and that will deter or stop your dog from eating poop.

• Use choke or prong collar wisely. Fit your dog with this collar and each time your dog tries to eat poop give it a short sharp tug on the leash. This will teach your dog that eating poop will lead to unpleasant experience.

There you have them on different methods that you can use to stop your dog from eating poop. I hope the above methods will be able to help you successfully.

About tanhungteong

I Love Dogs. I love to share how to care and train dog and create happiness in the family.

Leave a comment